Extra Muros - Geneva

Extra Muros - Geneva

Original compositions by Prins Emanuel, Nabihah Iqbal, Jaako Eino Kalevi, Cosmic Neman and Maria Spivak.
Supervision: Carl Ahnebrink, Olivier Duport, Madeleine Leclair and Alan Marzo
Co-production: Museum of Ethnography Geneva and FLEE Project
© and ℗ 2023 FLEE & MEG-AIMP

CD : CHF15
LP : CHF20

Extra Muros - Geneva is an artistic residency that was co-organised in December 2021 and January 2022 by the FLEE Project collective and MEG's ethnomusicology department. Five artists took part in the residency: Prins Emanuel, Nabihah Iqbal, Jaako Eino Kalevi, Cosmic Neman and Maria Spivak. The tracks featured on this album were conceived during the residency. 
Having never worked together before, the five artists discovered a wealth of sound resources at the MEG, including a dozen musical instruments from Africa and Asia held in the MEG's collections, an equivalent number of electronic instruments dating from the 1980s and 1990s and borrowed from the Swiss Museum and Center for Electronic Music Instruments (SMEM) in Fribourg, as well as recordings from five continents from the MEG's International Archives of Folk Music (IAFM).


La Plainte du pouce (extract track 01)

Fichier audio


01 La Plainte du Pouce - Prins Emanuel & Cosmic Neman (3’37)
02 NAB - Nabihah Iqbal & Jaakko Eino Kalevi (4’44)
03 Messy - Jaakko Eino Kalevi & Maria Spivak (3’08)
04 Kiriaki - Prins Emanuel & Maria Spivak (4’34)
05 Le Chant de Teodosia - Prins Emanuel & Cosmic Neman (5’01)
06 Ne Oxi - Cosmic Neman & Maria Spivak (2’46)
07 Sad Crying - Jaakko Eino Kalevi & Maria Spivak (3’12)
08 No one Knows - Prins Emanuel & Jaakko Eino Kalevi (4’28)
09 Allazo - Prins Emanuel & Maria Spivak (3’56)
10 Adieu Spatial - Jaakko Eino Kalevi & Cosmic Neman (3’37)
11 Eels in the Auditorium - Prins Emanuel & Nabihah Iqbal (4’16)
12 Ritual - Nabihah Iqbal & Maria Spivak (2’28)

Total duration : 45‘47